Skip Menu |
 

Subject: kadmin issue on Solaris
To: krb5-bugs@mit.edu
From: Mayooran Velayuthampillai <mayooran@ca.ibm.com>
Date: Thu, 5 Jan 2012 12:30:32 -0500
CC: Shadia Allam <allam@ca.ibm.com>, Fredy Fredy <ffredy@ca.ibm.com>, Kevin See <see@ca.ibm.com>, Greg Stager <gstager@ca.ibm.com>
Download (untitled) / with headers
text/plain 1.1KiB

Hello,

I'm trying to generate a keytab file on my Solaris Kerberos client machine by issuing the following:

# kadmin -p admin/admin
Authenticating as principal admin/admin with password.
kadmin: Database error! Required KADM5 principal missing while initializing kadmin interface

and I'm getting the above error. I'm unable to move forward with this error message. I tried googling and I found a post that was talking about 'inetd.conf'. But there was no entry in that file regarding Kerberos. So that fix doesn't apply to me.

Note, that I had 32bit files before and I did run into this issue before but not sure how it got resolved. And then I updated the library with 64bit files and now I'm facing this issue once again.

I've issued the kadmin -p admin/admin command on other Kerberos client machines and they work fine. I'm able to get into the kadmin prompt. So, there is no issue with the user admin/admin.

I tried kadmin.local and here is what I get.

Show quoted text
# kadmin.local -p admin/admin
Authenticating as principal admin/admin with password.
kadmin.local: No such file or directory while initializing kadmin.local interface

I'm not sure how to solve this issue. Any ideas?

Thanks.

regards,
Mayooran

This is not obviously a bug. Please ask your question on the kerberos@mit.edu list.